Call Us Today 931-250-8585

Blog

How Does Medicaid Treat Income?

Posted by Nina Whitehurst | Jul 22, 2020 | 0 Comments

The basic Medicaid rule for nursing home residents is that they must pay all of their income, minus certain deductions, to the nursing home. The deductions include a $60 per month personal needs allowance (this amount may be somewhat higher or lower in your state), a deduction for any uncovered medical costs (including medical insurance premiums), and, in the case of a married applicant, an allowance for the spouse who continues to live at home if he or she needs income support. A deduction may also be allowed for a dependent child living at home.

In determining how a Medicaid applicant's income affects his or her eligibility for nursing home coverage, most states use what is known as the "medically needy" or "spend-down" approach.  These states allow the applicant to spend down his or her income on his or her care until he or she reaches the state's income standard for eligibility, at which point Medicaid will begin covering his or her care.  In this way, those with incomes that exceed Medicaid's thresholds can still qualify if they have high medical expenses, assuming they meet Medicaid's other requirements.

But some states set a hard limit on the income permissible to qualify for Medicaid -- no spend-down is allowed.  In these states, known as "income cap" states, eligibility for Medicaid benefits is barred if the nursing home resident's income exceeds $2,349 a month (for 2020), unless the excess income above this amount is paid into a "(d)(4)(B)" or "Miller" trust. If you live in an income cap state, contact your attorney to set up a trust. The income cap states as of this writing are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, and Wyoming.  We can help you in Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Oregon and Tennessee.

For Medicaid applicants who are married, the income of the healthy spouse living in the community (the “community spouse”) is not counted in determining the Medicaid applicant's eligibility. Only income in the applicant's name is counted in determining his or her eligibility. Thus, even if the community spouse is still working and earning, say, $5,000 a month, he or she will not have to contribute to the cost of caring for his or her spouse in a nursing home if the spouse is covered by Medicaid.

 

About the Author

Nina Whitehurst

Attorney at Law Nina has been practicing law for over 30 years in the areas of estate planning, real estate and business law She is currently licensed in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Oregon and Tennessee. Her Martindale-Hubbell attorney rating is the highest achievable: 5 stars in peer...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Areas We Serve

Logo_202.png

Aenean lacinia bibendum nulla sed consectetur. Donec sed odio dui. Maecenas sed diam eget risus varius blandit sit amet non magna. Nulla vitae elit libero, a pharetra augue. Curabitur blandit tempus porttitor. Morbi leo risus, porta ac consectetur ac, vestibulum at eros. Cras justo odio, dapibus ac facilisis in, egestas.

Menu